World Peace and an Avocado Sandwich

“World Peace and an Avocado Sandwich” inspired this joint peace project.  This has been my husband’s response whenever he is asked what he wants for a gift.  What do you do with that???  One year, I sent an email to everyone I know, sent emails to all  kinds of organizations, and handed out hundreds of flyers to people on the street asking them to extend forgivness, an act of kindness, or even just a smile to contribute peace to their portion of the world.  We received emails from all over the world telling us what interesting things were being done to honor peace for my husband’s birthday.  So began the inspiration for this peace project . . .  (By the way, I also made him an avocado sandwich.)

My husband and I do not typically aspire to any New Year’s resolutions.  We are also not ones to think our lives are of any interest to others, so we’ve never seen ourselves as bloggers.  Yet, at this moment, it feels right to put our intentions and our efforts towards World Peace out in cyberspace to hopefully inspire others towards an increased consciousness of PEACE.

During the year 2011, my husband and I intend to make this the year of our peace project.  As part of the btpeaceproject, I intend to take some action, big or small, towards increasing the level of peace in the world on a daily basis.  I also hope to have the discipline to blog about it on a regular basis, if not daily.  Here’s to a NEW YEAR filled with PEACE ON EARTH, good will to EVERYONE!

This morning, when making breakfast for our overnight guest, I stopped to appreciate the most glorious sunrise (crazy to be up at sunrise after a late night, but the sunrise made it totally worth it!) 

New Year's Sunrise

While watching the magnificant show, my heart quieted, I felt a growing sense of peace, which I sent out to all people on the planet.  I also quietly sung a song I learned eons ago in grade school . . . You know the song . . . “Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me. . . . ”

Discussing Small Acts of Resistance

 

After a yummy breakfast, we had a stimulating conversation about this peace project, intentionality and consciousness, and Small Acts of Resistance: How Courage, Tenacity, and Ingenuity Can Change the World, a book we recently started reading.  

Small Acts of Resistance

 

What small act are you doing to make a difference in your part of the world?  Please share with us as we start this journey, knowing not where it will lead us.    

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to World Peace and an Avocado Sandwich

  1. Eric Mao says:

    Terry and Brian,

    This blog is a wonderful idea!

    I’ve been running a blog myself since early October discussing social and political philosophy from a libertarian standpoint. One essential principle of libertarianism is non-aggression between nations. A lot of emphasis of libertarianism is also on internal issues, which is important to world peace as the root causes of most, if not all, wars have been internal (no matter what they say), let alone civil wars and commotions. In sum, libertarian principles are conducive to world peace.

    I am getting a lot of personal satisfaction from working on the blog. The membership is international and has been growing steadily. The discussions and debates in this forum are informative and thoughtful.

  2. Jim Nolting says:

    Terry & Brian, good luck. Just think what we could do for world poverty if we did not have to use precious resources to try to insure world safety. I would love to see more funds going into children’s charities and efforts such as Heifer and doctors w/o borders………….

  3. Julie Parker says:

    Great idea you two. Terry, your entree into collaborative law is right on target: bringing peace to divorcing families rather than leaving them to the litigation demolitionists. Good luck with the blog and the project.

  4. Ross says:

    T&B,
    Resistance and Peace?
    Hmmm… I’m going to have to meditate on that one.
    Just brainstormin’.
    Love the blog. You go kids!
    Ross

  5. Kimberly says:

    Saw your comments on inner peace, then another friend from facebook posted this quote, thought you might like it:
    “When we’re unable to find peace with ourselves, it becomes difficult to find peace with each other. So we must begin to practice peace by being gentle with ourselves.”

  6. Sheryl says:

    I’m all in favor of this, T & B! The way to make a difference in the world is to make a difference where we are, tiny step by tiny step. Hang in there!

  7. Brian & Terry, I absolutely love this!!! What an amazing idea! I loved reading through your blog and the photograph of New Year’s Sunrise- so beautiful. I am looking forward to reading more and hopefully engaging in peace projects together. Much love!

Leave a Reply

